The Privy Council.—The British North America Act of 1867 (Sect. 11) provides for "a Council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada, to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada...". At present it consists of about 115 members sworn of the Council by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister. Membership in the Privy Council is for life so that Privy Councillors include both former and present Ministers of the Crown as well as a number of persons who have been, from time to time as an honour, sworn as Privy Councillors; these include members of the Royal Family, past and present Commonwealth Prime Ministers, and former Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons of Canada. The Council seldom meets as a body and its constitutional responsibilities as adviser to the Crown in respect to Canada are performed exclusively by a Committee; the membership thereof, with a few historical exceptions, is identical to that of the Cabinet of the Day. A clear distinction between the functions of the Committee of the Privy Council and the Cabinet is rarely made and actually the terms "Council" and "Cabinet" are commonly employed as synonyms.

5.—Members of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada According to Seniority Therein, as at Apr. 30, 1965

Note. - In this list the prefix "Rt. Hon." indicates membership in the British Privy Council.

Member ¹	Date When Sworn In	Member ¹	Date When Sworn In
Hon. Thomas Alexander Crerar. Hon. Herry Herberg Stevens. Hon. Ed ward James McMurray Rt. Hon. Charles Vincent Massey. H.R.H. The Durk of Windsor. Hon. Donald Matheson Sutherland. Hon. Donald Matheson Sutherland. Hon. William Earl Rowe. Hon. Charles Gavan Power. Rt. Hon. James Lorimer Lusley. Hon. Clair William George Gibson. Hon. Joseph Enoil Michaud. Hon. Colin William George Gibson. Hon. Joseph Enoil Michaud. Hon. William Ferdinand Alphonse Turgeon. Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent. Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent. Rt. Hon. Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill. Hon. Andrew George Latta McNaughton. Hon. Louis Chevier. Hon. Doseph Arthur Jean. Hon. Louis Chevier. Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin² Hon. Doulab Charles Abbott. Hon. Thomas Vien. Hon. Thomas Vien. Hon. Milton Fowler Gregg. Hon. Robert Menne Bowles Pearson's Hon. Stuart Sinclair Garson Hon. Stuart Sinclair Garson Hon. Stuart Sinclair Garson Hon. Stuart Sinclair Garson	Sworn In Oct. 12, 1917 Sept. 21, 1921 Nov. 14, 1923 Sept. 16, 1925 Aug. 2, 1927 Aug. 7, 1930 Aug. 30, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 July 8, 1940 June 11, 1941 Oct. 8, 1941 Dec. 10, 1941 Dec. 29, 1941 Nov. 2, 1944 Apr. 18, 1945 Apr. 18, 1945 Apr. 18, 1945 Sept. 4, 1945 Sept. 2, 1947 June 11, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948	Hon. George Carlyle Marler. Hon. Roch Pinard. Hon. Roch Pinard. Hon. Herbert J. Symington. Hon. Louis René Beaudoin. Hon. Douis René Beaudoin. Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer² Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker. Hon. Donard Methuen Fleming. Hon. Howard Charles Green. Hon. Donard Methuen Fleming. Hon. Alfred Johnson Brooks. Hon. Alfred Johnson Brooks. Hon. Léon Balcer. Hon. George Hees. Hon. Gorge Randolph Pearkes. Hon. Gordon Churchil. Hon. Gordon Churchil. Hon. Gordon Churchil. Hon. Gordon Churchil. Hon. Douglas Scott Harness. Hon. Douglas Scott Harness. Hon. J. Angus MacLean Hon. J. Angus MacLean Hon. William McLean Hamilton Hon. William McLean Hamilton Hon. William J. Browne. Hon. Paul Comtors. Hon. Paul Comtors. Hon. Paul Comtors. Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton. H.R. H. The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.	Sworn In July 1, 1954 July 1, 1954 Nov. 26, 1956 Apr. 15, 1967 Apr. 26, 1957 June 21, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Aug. 22, 1957 Oct. 14, 1957 May 12, 1958
Hon. STUART SINCLAIR GARSON	Nov. 15, 1948 Nov. 15, 1948 Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949	O'HURLEY. Hon. HENRI COURTEMANCHE Hon. DAVID JAMES WALKER. Hon. JOSEPH PIERRE ALBERT SÉVIGNY. Hon. HUGH JOHN FLEMMING.	May 12, 1958 Aug. 20, 1959 Aug. 20, 1959 Oct. 11, 1960
Hon. Walter Edward Harris. Hon. George Pauch Hon. George Black Earl Alexander of Tunis. Hon. James Sinclair Hon. James Sinclair Hon. Ralph Osborne Campney. Hon. William Ross Macdonald.	Jan. 18, 1950 Dec. 13, 1950 Aug. 3, 1951 Jan. 29, 1952 Oct. 15, 1952 Oct. 15, 1952	Hon. Noël Dorion. Hon. Walter Dinsdale Hon. George Ernest Halpenny. Hon. Robert Henry McGregor. Hon. Walter Morley Asettine. Hon. Leslie Miscampbell Frost. Hon. Jacques Flynn. Hon. John Bracken.	Oct. 11, 1960 Oct. 11, 1960 Dec. 21, 1960 Dec. 28, 1961 Dec. 28, 1961 Dec. 28, 1961
Hon. George Alexander Drew Hon. John Whitney Pickersgill ² Hon. Jean Lesage	May 12, 1953 June 12, 1953	HOD. PAUL MARTINEAU HOD. RICHARD ALBERT BELL HOD. MALCOLM WALLACE MCCUTCHEON	Aug. 9, 1962 Aug. 9, 1962